ROSA Marathon LXDE i586 boots to black screen

Ответить
Laskaris
Operating system: Zorin OS, Windows XP

ROSA Marathon LXDE i586 boots to black screen

Сообщение Laskaris » 18 окт 2012, 16:38

Hello,

I just installed ROSA on my hard drive. Unetbootin USB Live session was possible just in safe mode (normal live session ended with black screen). After installation completed I started ROSA for the first time and - get black screen. Tried to start in safe mode, with safe settings, without ACPI but result is always the same - completely black screen.
Laptop is K50AF with AMD-ATI Mobility Radeon 5145. Is there solution to this problem? Should may be kernel be started with some special parameters for my graphic card - "nomodeset" or something similar? Please pardon my ignorance, I am pretty new to Mandriva-ROSA distros.

For your help many thanks in advance,

L.

P.S. I understand Russian (allthough I am not much of a speaker) and searched Russian part of this forum but with no success. Link to Russian pages would be OK, too.

akdengi

Re: ROSA Marathon LXDE i586 boots to black screen

Сообщение akdengi » 21 окт 2012, 00:24

You need 'nomodeset' option to grub start string.

After properly boot enable non-free repo and instal propietary drivers.

Laskaris

Сообщение Laskaris » 21 окт 2012, 12:55

Hello,
thank you for your help!
xdrver=vesa nomodeset
did the trick.
Similar problem is described here: http://bugs.rosalinux.ru/show_bug.cgi?id=799
However, proprietary driver is terribly slow for me on 3.0.38 kernel. Is there solution to this?
Some additional tweaking? New kernel perhaps?
I installed opensource driver and it seems OK but I would really like to use proprietary (fglrx) driver for it's better performance and power management.

akdengi

Сообщение akdengi » 21 окт 2012, 15:10

Try add fresh repo

urpmi.addmedia fresh http://abf.rosalinux.ru/downloads/fresh ... n/release/

(for x86_64 replace part i586)

and install new kernel 3.4.x

Laskaris