Страница 1 из 1

how do I make new software avail to users?

Добавлено: 12 янв 2013, 21:53
skywave
Just installed Ksnapshot on RELS.
Apparently it is only available to root - how do I make it available to the user who is the admin of the server?

Re: how do I make new software avail to users?

Добавлено: 14 янв 2013, 15:00
d_uragan
How have you installed it? I've installed kdegraphics package and ksnapshot is now launching from both root and original user...

Re: how do I make new software avail to users?

Добавлено: 14 янв 2013, 18:49
skywave
first I tried via Add/Remove Software - but programs not added to the Graphics group
then I uninstalled and tried - yum install kdegraphics (had to change to sudo to do that) - but programs still not added to Graphics group.
When opening filemanager as root I can see all the programs under root applications - Graphics group...

Re: how do I make new software avail to users?

Добавлено: 14 янв 2013, 23:22
skywave
I tried different options by google'ing the topic - none worked - there were some very advanced and technical 'deep' solutions brought forward on the inet - some describing to edit 'path' (which I didn't understand) - but I really feel there must be an easier way to do this..
Aaaanyway - by coincidence I came over someone who suggested to install alacarte..
I tried that - and after opening up Start and Graphics I saw alle the kdegraphic programs there.. 8)

But really - shouldn't there be an easier way to do this than to install another program?
Or is it simply blocked by the developers of the RELS - due to the fact that on a server it must only be minimal GUI interaction?
Which I can understand and agree about.
I just find it nice - on a server - to have the possibility of a screenshot - and also a minimal email client - to use for support interaction when encountering a prob.

Re: how do I make new software avail to users?

Добавлено: 15 янв 2013, 16:20
d_uragan
skywave писал(а): But really - shouldn't there be an easier way to do this than to install another program?
Or is it simply blocked by the developers of the RELS - due to the fact that on a server it must only be minimal GUI interaction?
Yes, I think this is the reason (though I am not a RELS developer). Maybe not 'blocked', but just haven't got much attention. Finally, they have chosen relatively minimalistic LXDE as desktop environment, and likely haven't bothered much about integration of KDE tools in it.

how do I make new software avail to users

Добавлено: 12 авг 2016, 23:40
Ronaldpync
im unsure on how to make my weapon have effects ive got the aoe to work just not the effects